Poets logo

Ephemeral

A Star Dying in Your Sky

By Poppy Published 8 months ago 1 min read
18
Image Created on Midjourney

It is ashamedly painful

To know you are

Forgetting me

I fear I am

A star dying

In your sky

And you will not

Even notice my absence

From your thoughts

Until my name falls from

Someone’s lips in the distant future

And you struggle to remember me

What will you think of?

My smile?

Or the way I made you smile?

Maybe neither (hopefully both)

I always knew

We were not forever

(Not a tattoo, more of a sunburn)

But I hoped our moment

Would be drawn out longer

Yet aren’t all things beautiful

Equally as fleeting?

When has a sunset

Ever lingered?

When has a sunrise

Ever stayed?

Twilight is celestial

For a reason

You and I were

Ethereal because

We were ephemeral

❀❀❀❀❀

Note: My Poetry Book Wasted Love is available to purchase here.

If you enjoyed this poem you may also like:

nature poetrysad poetrylove poems
18

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    “Not a tattoo More a sunburn” if that isn’t the most amazing way to describe some types of love I don’t know what is

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I loved this: "Yet aren’t all things beautiful Equally as fleeting? When has a sunset Ever lingered? When has a sunrise Ever stayed? Twilight is celestial For a reason" Wow, that was profound. Wonderful work!

  • Dailyn Townes8 months ago

    "Yet aren't all things beautiful equally as fleeting?" Was by far so profound and my favorite section because it reminds me (us) of not taking advantage of the beautiful things that this life has to offer, but cherishing every moment, every sunrise, every sunset, every new friendship, every new relationship. These things aren't something we are entitled to but things we get to experience, let us not forget this truth. Poppy, this is just a brilliant job well done!

  • Oh it definitely was a sunburn! That was my favourite line! Fantastic poem!

  • Beautifully poignant, Poppy.

  • Diani Alvarenga8 months ago

    Beautiful poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Beautiful poem! Well done! I don’t think anybody wants to be forgotten, very relatable!

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Such a sad feeling you’re describing, and it feels like it’s doubling in me as I read it! But I’m also oddly comforted. You have such a beautiful way with words, Poppy! And a great reminder… I need to buy your book 😇

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    “(Not a tattoo, more of a sunburn)” I felt this line so much. It’s the perfect metaphor. Well-done Poppy. This is my new favorite poem by you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.