Poets logo

Empty lives between the walls

when you are ready to go but only you.

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Empty lives between the walls
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Empty lives between the walls,

Mealtimes together. Who is the first to speak?

Plunging into a sea of distress.

Troubling times but I do not want to go there.

Inside me there is no us.

Nor today, a new start.

Elevated to the throne of hope.

Slow, we realise that it was not to be.

Silent then we search and find a way out.

Before I think and survey the facts.

Extreme fatigue pulls me down.

Trying as I may it might be too much.

Wondering when you will make a start.

Evenly lying besides, me in bed.

Easy breathing, you won’t accept.

Nowhere can I catch you to hear you.

Think today will be the end.

Hear, it will drag on beyond your understanding.

Easy and slow, one gesture at a time.

Welcome to the world as you have known it.

Assuming age has not opened all the experiences to you, yet.

Look I am there I will help you through.

Leaving pains and destroys us.

Staying of course is the death of you.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.