Poets logo

Plagiarism!!

Today I understood the word and the effect if has.

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Plagiarism!!
Photo by Gwendal Cottin on Unsplash

I noticed, this morning, that somebody

Had tried to copy the lines and shapes

And colours of four of my drawings.

What made it so different this time from the other

Times when artists drew after my style

Was the appropriation. Downloading my work

On a software program.

Keeping the backbone of the structure,

And playing with thickness of the lines.

They looked all four of them as the result

Of my own work,

They just played colouring in after abstracting my shape.

People who know my work know that I only work

On paper, ball pens, markers, and colours.

The other times I was flattered

Because I had done those exercises too.

Redrawing something that somebody else had drawn.

We were trying to learn, to understand. I struggle with Van Gogh the most

Because his work looks so easy.

Use copying as a learning tool not like a thief.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.