Poets logo

Embracing the Unseen

An Abecedarian Poem on my DeafBlindness

By Tracy StinePublished 4 months ago 2 min read
1
Embracing the Unseen
Photo by Thong Vo on Unsplash

A world of muffled sounds, a blurred perception, I can see and hear, but never clearly.

Boundless communication beyond spoken word - sign language, captions, and large print.

Connecting through touch, this sense I trust.

Determined to navigate each obstacle, cane in hand.

Eclipsed by the shadows of unseen things, bumped and bruised I continue.

Fingers dancing across tactile sign language, I feel your message.

Guided by a helping elbow, a tapping cane.

Hearing songs, voices, laughter, but not understanding the words.

Invisible barriers surmounted through resilience, this is not new.

Journeys through landscapes of bright colors and forms, many I cannot identify.

Keenly attuned to tactile sensations, someone walked by, the cat's zoomies across the wood floor.

Lingering in the hush of sensory uncertainty, did I really see that, did I really hear that?

Moving slowly through the shadows and subtle cues, trailing my hand along the wall.

Navigating a World not made for me, cluttered sidewalks, dark spaces, loud restaurants.

Openness to teaching others, so many questions, so many assumptions.

Persistence at completing tasks, it takes me longer to do but slowly and surely it gets done.

Quiet triumphs amidst a busy world, I arrived at my designation on my own.

Radiance emanates from my confidence, I can do this!

Sarcasm is my defense mechanism, it shields me from prejudiced assumptions.

Thriving strength as I navigate a world rich with unseen possibilities. I'm not scared.

Uplifting others in shared circumstances, they can learn to thrive too.

Venturing alone, the senses weave hazy stories of discovery, I embrace it all.

Waves of laughter as friends chat, hands flying in sign. I love getting together with my Deaf friends.

Xenial connections between me and the world around me—a smile, a gentle touch - feelings of warmth and welcome.

Yes you see me out in public, yet you doubt my capabilities. You assert yourself over my independence.

Zestful outlook on life, being DeafBlind does not slow me down.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Tracy Stine

Freelance Writer. ASL Teacher. Disability Advocate. Deafblind. Snarky.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.