Poets logo

Ember of the Hearth

Moments of home

By Tammy McConaughyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ember of the Hearth
Photo by Matt Seymour on Unsplash

The flames flick their serpent-like tongues at me, the coals burn black and hot.

The kettle boils and sings shrilly.

The air is moist and warm surrounding me.

Breathe in, pause.

Breath out, pause.

The quilt is old and worn.

The hands are old and wrinkled.

Both warm, soft, and inviting.

Both are full of love and moments.

The hearth always burns even without a fire, deep in my heart.

The embers glowing, just like the center of her eyes.

The embers warm, just like her heart.

A heartbeat, a crackling fire, a hug.

They take me back to a home no longer standing.

A home deep in the woods of my memories.

A home that glows deep inside of me, always ready.

A home that has her voice, her wisdom, her love always waiting for me.

A home that all I must do is close my eyes and breath to be at the door.

Breath in, pause.

Breath out, pause.

The flames flick their serpent-like tongues at me, the coals burn black and hot.

The kettle boils and sings shrilly.

The air is moist and warm surrounding me.

The ember is glowing, warm, waiting for me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Tammy McConaughy

I don't know about you but I was the kid who always had my nose in a book and dreamed about being a writer. Dreams come true. I love writing & reading, sharing written words with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.