Poets logo

Eleven

Why?

By Julian ShoafPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Why did you spend the night with me?

Why did you pull my arms around you?

I’m in pain.

I am constantly in pain.

Why can’t I stop thinking about you?

This is my life now, and I don’t think it will ever change.

Everything around me moves, but I always stay the same.

The way that I’m living is getting really fucking lame.

I must be completely honest with you, I am terrified to start over with someone new.

Terrified to let them in.

Terrified to let someone get close again.

I don’t want to explain my tattoos to someone new.

Or all my scars.

I don’t want to talk about my day to someone who isn’t you.

They wouldn’t understand.

They wouldn’t listen.

They never do.

If I could forget you, I would.

It’s a sad thought, but I feel like it would be easier on both of us.

If only it were that simple.

I often get pains where my heart should be.

Maybe that’s because it’s missing, or maybe it’s the nicotine.

My mom would be really disappointed in me.

I know that I am.

I really want to hold you.

I am so sick of every day that I go without it.

I still have those fucking fish that you wanted.

I’m really glad that we didn’t adopt a kitten, now.

I am such a fucking idiot.

I’ll never fully understand why I decided to go.

Or say the things that I said.

Anger always has a way of destroying everything.

I finally got your scent out of my room.

I’d do anything to have it back.

I’m going out to dinner with a girl you know, tomorrow.

She’s a nice girl, but I don’t want to go.

I want it to be you.

I gross myself out all the time.

Weed never makes me sleep when I want to sleep.

It’s fucking frustrating.

Everything is fucking frustrating without you here.

I fucking hate it.

I hate this.

I hate not knowing you.

I hate everything, anymore.

I’m really fucking tired.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.