Poets logo

Elementary Woes

I was in prison before I even knew what prison was.

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
No longer institutionalized. 

Left that hide I’ve woven as a survival tactic behind

I’m so ill on the mic you would think

dat’ I contracted typhoid

Performing arts and writing helped with

discovering my potential

Folks that I once knew are intrigued by my development

Tellin’ me I ain’t know you were this dope

To tell you the truth

It was in me from the start,

I just had to draw it out like some

storyboards from Toei Animation

I went from singing ABC’s to frolicking

every letter of the alphabet,

singing hooks while I was at it

I went from keeping eyes on my own paper

to keeping eyes on the paper

I went from journaling to publishing,

I wrote 138 projects

How’s that for an A+ assignment?

I went from doing times tables in

Everyday Mathematics to workin’ the books,

assets plus liability equals owner’s equity

I don’t have to be an accountant to know that

I went from show and tell to just showing

you what’s gud, you kiddin’ right

Talk is cheaper than Eugene Krabs

System can no longer institutionalize I,

my awareness has been crystalized

Don’t even need to pick up the tree right now

Linguistics give me euphoria it is incapable of offering,

I have latent smarts on my side

To think dat’ I never went past city limits,

I’m all over the boroughs and back

as I got Ghostface Killa blaring in my ears,

tellin’ me dat’ I’m the champ

I’m more than that to be honest

I’m a hall of famer

Young veteran, by the time I reach my sixties

I’ll be beyond unstoppable because it’s how tactical

I am when it comes to the things that

I’m capable of coming up with

performance poetry

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    savage writerWritten by savage writer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.