Poets logo

Don't Put the Pen Down :)

I will never stop doing what I love.

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
This is what I live to do

i remember you telling me

“Don’t put the pen down :)”

oh, i can never

you know me by now

i don’t know where all this

drive is coming from,

but i have just been feelin’

really creative lately

could it be my inner peace

pushing me to go this far with my craft

could it be you motivating me

what could it be,

it’s best to roll with the tides than

to probe questions

i’m in waters of acclaim,

i know my breakthrough is on the way

that’s why i’ve been optimistic about

the effort that i’ve been putting in

i know there’s a lot of craziness

going on around us

people dying, people getting locked up

shutdowns, protests

no need for me to go in-depth about it

that’s all right, that’s just third-

dimensional nonsense

i’m on my fifth, going into the sixth

and from that into the seventh,

eighth, ninth, tenth

levels beyond this existence

i see that you’ve been ghost on social media,

that’s cool

i know you’re out there broadening your world,

i was doin’ the same

you’ll come back better than ever,

i just kno’ you will

i’ll be here waiting to see your progress

meanwhile, i’m in the laboratory penning

these poems like it’s no tomorrow

lights off and all, everything around me is dimmed

just wait until you see me in person again,

the way i’ve elevated will blow your mind

i’m not that same kid you graduated with in 2017,

that’s for sure

i’m in a different space with a different mission

however, my core has never been compromised

i’m in a different space with a different mission

the same mistakes i repeated prior,

i’m not looking to again

i have another chance to execute shit differently

2019 is going to be the year of all years,

i’m sharper than some flint

or a shank made from a sink in the penitentiary

i’ve been falling apart,

now i’m piecing myself together

i’ve been falling apart, my game is on point

i can break the baskets, turn backboards into crystal dust

the underdog is now the god

the underdog is now the dog

big dog, give me that respect

big dog, only the truest weather

the storm these fakes will peel away like bananas

my way with words are candid,

i don’t shy away from anything

i got a few condolences for my enemies

you can’t rig this race, don’t try to cross

a line that you couldn’t finish in the first place

i remember you telling me

“Don’t put the pen down :)”

you get to see me perform

you get to see what i’m really like, all the bashfulness aside

going from a kid who barely talked to anyone

to a man that can create just about anything

i remember you telling me

“Don’t put the pen down :)”

if there were more poems that i was able to spit to you,

would you be around to hear any of them because

i would be honored to share more of my words with you

inspirational

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    savage writerWritten by savage writer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.