Poets logo

Echo

Some things are not what they seem

By Poetry LandscapesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Echo
Photo by Sandra Grünewald on Unsplash

I loved her

the first time

our eyes touched.

.

First contact

was alight, the validation

and the infatuation

the artist

.

communicated with such little

substance was remarkable.

.

The emotions communicated

to me

flowed naturally.

.

She had a way

of saying

all the right things.

.

Thoughts and feelings

which kept me staying

a little bit longer

each night.

.

Gazing at this marvelous piece

that felt so familiar

but just different enough,

to keep my vision fixed.

.

In retrospect,

It was like she wasn't a painting

but a person,

.

who had become trapped

in someone else's creation.

.

The work itself,

its a sad painting.

Dark, terrifying,

yet still beautiful.

.

Eventually I realize,

I will never gain intimacy

with this thing, it will always

allude my understanding

and heart.

.

I will never find

what feels missing

about the imagery

in the picture.

.

The scenes keep pulling

me in. Familiar

but different enough.

.

I feel parts of me

in the painting. Overtime,

I become less

and the painting more.

.

I keep hoping

that if only I continue

to stare

into the painting,

.

I would see some hint

the artist left of redemption,

.

or salvation for myself.

Or anyone else even.

But I never find it.

So I keep staring,

transfixed.

.

Until I become

the painting.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Poetry Landscapes

We are a poet influenced by Charles Bukowski, and Button poets such as Anis Mojgani, Neil Hilborn and Andrea Gibson. He follows the outlaw style and utilizes surrealist landscapes. Find more at https://poetrylandscapes.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.