Poets logo

east coast

a soul-purging poem

By Suze KayPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2024
36
image made with midjourney, author's prompt

if you tell me where we're going then i'll tell you where i went after the marathon.

you won't like it. i did.

you sent me like an orphan to the countryside in wartime, you wouldn't look me in the eye so i did, in the mirror: teeth bared, never flossing.

maybe you were right, for all the fuss. i was a child.

//

things i'm ugly about: this.

slipquick yeses overrode the bowl, they brimmed the edges, i stayed the course. i lost my grip in the mess on the tile.

one more glass, one more night, one more if, until i crawled up the bedskirts (not yours, i tried) and nothing got good.

by the time the race was over my train was pulling from back bay. i pulled my hair from the shower drain that night and gagged -- but that was after.

//

no more mr. nice guy. no more rings in times square and that's ok.

the frosting tasted like crisco. the fries were soggy. it was dirty in the corners.

it's gotten worse -- commute crush weed whiff elmo elbows -- or maybe i have gotten better. a woman now, though you never planned to meet her.

at least the lights were bright. at least i had you in new haven.

//

and floating in the met before the nameless whore, and through the streets of providence, wasn't it grand?

watching one another in the café mirror. finding myself in your margin notes. convenient blurs on names and dates and -- but that came later.

treasure the moment before the egg falls. ponder the yolk's spill.

that's what i did on the amtrak south. i forgot the alchemy of human connection, lingered just a second longer on the cymbal splash of chemistry.

//

i wonder if she smelled me on her couch, or felt my eyes on her countertop mailpile. i wonder if the dog i met was really yours.

you poured me wine and begged me not to write you in. i promised, (forgive me,) i lied. i found the café mirror again and still your shadow's there.

there is so much pain in the world and tonight it's all here in this room.

come taste it with me.

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
36

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Melancholy!!! Congratulations onTop Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • This was so gripping and powerful

  • Sara 4 months ago

    Breathtaking - I have no words

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Congrats on the Top Story!

  • I love your sad story

  • Aditya yadav4 months ago

    ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️ explore my stories:https://vocal.media/futurism/navigating-the-ai-revolution-embracing-change-for-better-work

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This is fucking masterful. Suze...like Kendall said...I too envy your wordsmithery. You have such a beautiful, realistic but poetic way with words. So much of this was easy to follow and feel...even if it was open to interpretation at times...but lines like "i wonder if she smelled me on her couch, or felt my eyes on her countertop mailpile. i wonder if the dog i met was really yours." and elmo elbows...like. Suze...I wish to write like this! Congrats on a well deserved Top Story...I hope you felt better after writing and publishing this...it's a beautiful purge.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Your use of language makes me jealous... Slipquick much? Top Story, indeed...

  • JBaz4 months ago

    I really have no words to say , except this was extremely moving. Congratulations

  • Erez Gerz4 months ago

    amazing work! Keep it going

  • Test4 months ago

    Marvelous work! Keep it going—congrats!

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    OMG YESS!! So glad to see this here! Congrats on TS! I'm obsessed with this

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is incredible. It felt more like reading your mind than reading a poem, all these thoughts, images plucked from memory. Really, really well done.

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Very powerful piece here, I loved, “the frosting tasted like crisco. the fries were soggy. it was dirty in the corners.”, because it felt raw and so emotional, like nothing in life is enjoyable anymore. Your talent continues to amaze me Suze

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    i wonder if she smelled me on her couch, or felt my eyes on her countertop mailpile. i wonder if the dog i met was really yours. So visual!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    “you wouldn't look me in the eye so i did, in the mirror: teeth bared, never flossing.” Ahh that’s so raw and visceral. “things i'm ugly about: this.” Great line. “or maybe i have gotten better. a woman, now, though you never planned to meet her. at least the lights were bright. at least i had you in new haven.” The bittersweet, resigned tone of this is breathtaking. “you poured me wine and begged me not to write you in. i promised, (forgive me,) i lied. i found the café mirror again and still your shadow's there.” I can’t even explain why I love this so much but it’s just beautifully written. “there is so much pain in the world and tonight it's all here in this room.” That is so so heartbreaking but perfectly worded and I had to reread it over and over again. “come taste it with me.” A perfect perfect ending to an extraordinary poem. Words cannot explain how much I love your writers voice. This is the kind of poem that will be remembered through time like Edgar Allen Poe’s.

  • J4 months ago

    The way you describe yourself as a child in past tense and later pull up imagery of a spilled-out egg made me picture the yolk as a source of nourishment for something still developing, no longer serving its initial purpose, but still begging contemplation. Beautiful, bittersweet read. New York by St. Vincent is stuck in my head, now.

  • Forbidden taste, bitter-sweet recompense for all that is lost, borrowing it from another.

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    What a piece! The emotion and imagery behind this is truly something else. Beautifully written and well done!

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Wow. This work is so visceral! I could feel it both in my bones and in my craw. I love the illustration, both spooky and Edward Hopperish.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Absolutely gorgeous.💗

  • Test4 months ago

    So intelligently and beautifully crafted, I usually try not to read other comments until I've made mine but I did inadvertently and pretty much, Hannah said what I wanted to say.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I read this twice. Twice and more, chunking it. I love how you looked yourself in the eye, and how you lied. I know there is huge bitterness in this, but it also feels like there is a claiming of self, too.

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Omg, this is a masterpiece. I’ll be back to reread and say more later!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.