Poets logo

Dying Wish

Mortal House

By Rebecca DalmasoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Dying Wish

Family dinner night and everyone is here

Reach for my wife’s hand, she fights back a tear

Voice is shaky as I ask all hear what I say

I got some very bad news from the doctor today

Here is what I want and here’s what I don’t

Some of you may agree, some of you won’t

These are my wishes, the last of my rights

My dying days and my final nights

No fancy box for this mortal house to Lay

Or a man of god with something to say

No church floor to soak up the tears

Turn my body to ash, burn all the years

There is no place for me in a row of stone

A prisoner of time, and weeds overgrown

Some roots in the earth can last forever

This is how I want us to stay together

With my ashes to offer dig a small hole in the earth

Place them in with the seed of a tree it will birth

Nurture this tree and carve in it my name

Forever I bask in the sun and dance in the rain.

inspirational

About the Creator

Rebecca Dalmaso

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca DalmasoWritten by Rebecca Dalmaso

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.