Poets logo

A True and Tragic Story

Bridegroom

By Rebecca DalmasoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A True And Tragic Story

When you came into my life I was lonely and confused

Trying to live life with a heart that's been abused

You were my everything for over six years

Taught me to listen to the sound of my tears

We don't want to hide so we told the truth to our kin

My family opened their arms and invited you in

Thrown out the door as your parents washed their hands

Your brothers and sisters they did not understand

They broke your heart, denying their own blood

Your tears ran for days, your own personal flood

Born this way but still they treated you like dirt

Choosing shame over love and leaving you hurt

We stand up for our love because it is our home

The real queers are those who leave love alone

No sign of the law the day we walked down the aisle

Instead it is fighting for those who live in denial

Fighting and rising above this world we built our place

Where our love roamed free and not tainted with disgrace

We lived our lives doing the world no harm

Until tragedy struck and destroyed the calm

I live and breathe now but I died inside

The day death took you to the other side

Resentment set in when I heard your mothers voice

How could anyone let you go by choice?

Not a single tear in her eye as I sat there and sobbed

I let her take what she wanted I'd already been robbed

She cleared out our bank account and took your mortal house

No regard for the wishes of a powerless spouse

You were soon to be buried, she agreed to let me know when

Denied my goodbye, I never heard from her again

I refused to surrender, went ahead and booked my flight

Your daddy warned me I would be met with a violent fight

Your brothers shotgun awaits if I show up on the day

Fearing for my life I had no choice but to stay.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Dalmaso

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.