Poets logo

Dual Parenting Alone

Why I get Mother’s Day and Father’s Day

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Dual Parenting Alone
Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

It's become our own milestone

It made it all worthwhile

They thought it up on their own

This was never my idea

***

They make both days perfect

Both Mother's and Father's Day

Showing me their total respect

They honour me each year

***

And their love they portray

I get treated with gratitude

And still to this very day

All through their little lives

***

On those two days of the year

Is the recognition I receive

To make up for all my tears

My reward for my hard work

***

Would silence my previous uproar

Then a proud parenting moment

Thinking I couldn't do this anymore

There were many days I would cry

***

Against each other, in any regard

Of pitting Mum and Dad

They could never play that card

And I'll never be replaced

***

And will be until I die

I'm their first port of call

Between my beautiful boys and I

Ensuring an extra special closeness

***

But it's all we've ever known

I shouldered the ups and downs

Being both Mum and Dad alone

For this reason I've dual parented

***

A never ending amount of joys

It's always been a family of three

With the birth of my two boys

I feel I am so incredibly lucky

*****************************

Thank you for reading. Please read it again, but this time start from the bottom line and read up.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

inspirational

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    This is a brilliant inverse. You have threaded a wonderful story of a mother’s relationship with her sons, while also changing the flow of the message on the re-read. “Would silence my previous uproar” is a key line that makes the ones just above and below different, and the rhyme in here gives its a lovely flow. Well done, and good luck in the challenge😊

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I had the similar experience, so I know the feeling. This is from the heart, with those who appreciate. You are so very lucky, though it was hard, in the end, it was all worth it.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.