Poets logo

Driving

Sigh

By Chris GrieschePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Driving though the back roads of my mind

Slamming on the breaks as a deer runs by

I sigh

It’s really heavy with these thoughts

These ideas inside my head that fill me with dread

I said

I don’t know if I can keep going

But everyone else thinks I’m fine, maybe not thriving but not outta time

I rhyme

To keep myself occupied

Keep my brain from thinking about all the pain

I’m sane

At least that’s what I tell myself

But at night when the lights go out I think they’re right

I might

Have a couple of screws loose

But who doesn’t have one or two loose little screw

I do

What I gotta do

But I procrastinate until it’s too late

I’ll wait

Till the last minute

To tell anyone alive that I’m not sure I’ll survive

I thrive

Is what I tell them

But would the truth set me free to be me

And maybe get to a place where they see my face

Not where they see pain or a lie just a real guy who may thrive

But then the deer crosses by and I’m back to my drive

art
1

About the Creator

Chris Griesche

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruthie M.11 months ago

    Ahhh the unending thoughts that plague man. I listen to audiobooks to drown out mine, The classics, biographies, psychological thrillers. My mind stays occupied. About three weeks ago I was driving up the mountain road to the school I work at and a deer ran alongside my car for about a half mile. I slowed down to watch her and she safely crossed in front of me. They say that is a sign. I ought to write a poem about it Thank you for your share

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.