Poets logo

Chilled

Chasing Warmth

By Chris GrieschePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Tingling sensations crawl across my body,

Starting in my toes,

Rising through my bones,

The feeling of the end of summer.

The rain has started to fall

And the wind now whips

More furiously than it had been

When we were lying in the sand.

The rays of sunlight hit my skin,

And I now covet the warmth it brings me.

Where once I ran for the shade to keep me cool,

I now run for the sun to heat my soul,

To stop this chill from coursing through me,

Like a venom that takes its time.

When the cold gust strikes my neck,

I feel like crawling inside my bed,

Deep under the covers,

And staying there until it is summer again.

I sometimes dream of being a bear,

Sleeping away my winter,

But waiting till June to come out.

These cool little chills,

All across my body,

Keep me from comfort.

Even in the house,

I feel this frigid air,

Creeping through my spine,

Preventing me from relaxation,

Driving me insane.

Perhaps one day,

I’ll live in a place,

Where I can bask in the heat all year round,

Like a cat on the window sill.

If not that,

Then maybe I’ll just travel,

My whole life moving place to place,

Just staying in a hot climate,

And never settling for the cold,

Like a bird migrating,

An Arctic tern traveling to stay warm,

Or a Swift in flight because it can’t land.

For now,

I suppose though,

I’ll just put on thicker socks.

artnature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chris Griesche

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.