Poets logo

Drifting

Somewhere between one wilderness and another

By Roderick MakimPublished 7 days ago 1 min read
Drifting
Photo by john elfes on Unsplash

Drifting on the

Hazy edges of the

Second, secret lives

We all live

_

Bumping in and out

Of consciousness

On a bumpy road somewhere between

One wilderness

And another

In Honduras or maybe

Guatemala

(Who can remember all these

Picky details

After all these years?)

All was green outside the bus,

Except a young man walking

In a faded white t-shirt and

Faded orange cap and

Surprisingly new-looking black jeans and

I wondered where the hell

He was walking to

As the heat attempted

A pirate's boarding party

Crashing through cracked-open windows

Held back by a

Valiant old aircon unit and

Suddenly

On the edge of this false sleep:

_

I understood.

_

Two old men

Talking

In the seats in front of me

The rhythm the

Cadence

The words

Flowing into my memories

Where snatches of Spanish

At some time

Were stored.

Brought forth

By the rocking motion

Of the bus.

I hardly dared

Breathe

In case I woke

My mind tricked into

Thinking I was asleep instead of this state

In between

Where all language is

Understood.

_

They spoke of nothing more important

Than life

Just life

And every word

I understood and

Bump!

Went the bus and

I dreamed myself

Awake.

_

The two old men

Still chatting on

In front of me

And I understood

Not a word.

HolidayStream of ConsciousnessFree Verse

About the Creator

Roderick Makim

Read one too many adventure stories as a child and decided I'd make that my life.

I grew up on a cattle station in the Australian Outback and decided to spend the rest of my life seeing the rest of the world.

For more: www.roderickmakim.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Roderick MakimWritten by Roderick Makim

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.