Poets logo

Strange evolution

From king to stone to myth

By Roderick MakimPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Strange evolution
Photo by Kvnga on Unsplash

Strange aeons

Under earth

Becoming stone .

_

Dug up

By hairless apes

Barely prey when

Prowled the land

Did I

Unchallenged

Until darkness undone

Cold

Death

And aeons

Aeons

Under earth

Becoming stone ,

The earth becoming

Cold

Enough for tiny fur-covered creatures

Crept from the caves ,

Trembling down from the trees

Taken over my lands

With false talons of flint and wood and

Fire .

_

And still I lay here

My bones

Becoming stone.

_

The apes could not grasp

My majesty

Could not imagine

My reality

And made me

Myth instead.

_

They ground my bones

My stones

Into powders and potions

Into stories and songs

And named me

_

Dragon.

_

From king

To stone

To myth.

_

My bones

Tell a

Strange evolution.

ProseFree Verse

About the Creator

Roderick Makim

Read one too many adventure stories as a child and decided I'd make that my life.

I grew up on a cattle station in the Australian Outback and decided to spend the rest of my life seeing the rest of the world.

For more: www.roderickmakim.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Roderick MakimWritten by Roderick Makim

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.