Poets logo

Star-Crossed

A Dialogue Poem

By Obsidian WordsPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Star-Crossed
Photo by Reign Abarintos on Unsplash

“I don't understand, I love you. And you love me, right?”

“Of course, but…”

“Then why? What else matters?”

“Everything! Everything matters.”

“Nothing else should matter, we should be the only thing that matters.”

“Yeah, sure, in a fantasy, but that's not how it is in reality”

“It could be, we could make it reality”

“How? Pretend like nothing else matters? Hide from it?”

“We don't need to pretend, we can just work on the stuff that's not working.”

“But it's not just you and me that affects us.”

“But no one else should matter. They don't matter. Not to me.”

“So it doesn't bother you that my father will never accept you?”

“...”

“You don't think it's an issue that every time we visit he can barely stand to be in the same room.”

“Well-”

“You don't think it's an issue that's there is nothing we can do to ever convince him to change his mind”

“That's not fair”

“Yeah, but it's true.”

“It doesn't matter, I love you”

“It does matter.”

“So what are you saying?”

“I'm saying that love isn't always enough”

“Since when?”

“Since always.”

“Then what the fuck was the point of the last four years? Why bother at all if it doesn't matter?”

“Because it's worth it when love is enough.”

“Right. Just not for us.”

“We have been star-crossed since the start.”

“Fuck the stars, you just don’t love me.”

“I think it’s the opposite, I think I love you just enough to know when it's right to let you go.”

“Even if it's not what I want?”

“Even then, especially then.”

“Or it's just an excuse, blame the stars to absolve yourself.”

“Maybe, maybe not. But let's be honest, love never really makes sense so why not trust the stars.”

“Because for pricks made of fire, they sure are cold, just like you."

“I’m sorry, for what it’s worth.”

“About as much as a vacant wish on a long dead star.”

sad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Obsidian WordsWritten by Obsidian Words

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.