Poets logo

Dreaming of Freedom

Country Life

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 9 days ago 1 min read

I crave the day I can walk outside, feel the fresh breeze, where dreams reside. To sit on my porch, and watch the dawn. Over my own land, where the night is gone.

I crave the peace that freedom brings. The gentle rustle of morning wings. A plot of land, a place to call my own, a sanctuary of earth, roots overgrown.

In my cell, I dream of skies so wide, of endless fields, where I can hide. Away from bars and cold, hard stone, to a place where I am truly alone.

I see the sun rise, golden and bright, casting away the shadows of night. In the country, where life moves slow. And every moment has space to grow.

I crave the silence, the tranquil air. The simple joys, the lack of care. To say, "This is mine," with pride so deep. A promise to keep, a dream to reap.

In the still of my cell, these visions bloom. Chasing away the encroaching gloom. For in my heart, I hold the key. To the life I will build when I am free.

I dream of mornings bathed in light, of owning land, where stars are bright. Of walking freely, no chains, no bars. Guided only by the moon and stars.

I crave freedom, the unchained soul. To break away from this prison's toll. To build a life of hope and grace, In a far-off, peaceful, country place.

So here I sit, in shadows confined. With dreams of the future in my mind. A young man yearning, heart set on flight. To a land of peace, in the soft dawn light.

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.