Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Dreaded Deepest Darkness

Dark Acrostic 1

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read

Dreaded deepest darkness, dragging me down deeper into the dirt, dust, and dross

Accepting my fate is easier than fighting my dark-shadowed destiny

Reaching out, for anything, anyone; nothing and no one is there, but me

Knotted ropes attached to my legs and my hands, attempting to escape is futile at best

Next comes the knife that's pressed to my chest; the piercing blade invades my skin

Everything starts to get darker, the blackness is fading into nothingness

Something or someone is approaching in the darkness and blackness

Silence surrounds me, apart from my heart, which is failing and fading as my eyes close...

*

Thanks for reading!

Some nice lighthearted and fun poetry for Sunday afternoon! Hehe.

Aside from Challenge entries, I have quite a few long-term ideas that I am slowly working on. There is a book of acrostics, including my strongest entries to the Dancing with Distraction Challenge and the Like Baloo... and Frustration ones. Then there is a book of Troll fairy tales, including my short story Distraction Takes Its Toll and other tales of Trolls from around the world, and one that is going to feature exclusively Dark Acrostics, for which this is the first.

social commentaryvintagesurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    This makes me think of the final scene of Franz Kafka's "The Trial" where K is lying on the ground as his two executioners keep passing the knife back & forth between them & over him until finally he grabs the blade himself & ends it.

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    D A R K... you did an amazing job with this one as well! I cannot write dark, and sometimes can't read it either, but these acrostics are too good to miss. Looking forward to your book– with your acrostic talent, it's simply a must.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I don’t do trolls or dragons or fantasy, but I am HERE for the book of acrostics! Yes please. 😊

  • Hehehehehe fun and lighthearted indeed! You knew I was gonna love this!

  • ❤️😉📝

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Deep dark dimensions in this performance poem!!! Dropped a ❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 12 months ago

    Very dark! I love it!

  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    Ooh, this was very unsettling. I've had nightmares like this, vivid ones, and that ick of being stabbed, even just imagined, lingers for a long time. I love all your ideas, especially the troll fairy tales. Looking forward to some of those!!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Yes, sir, that was dark! Well done!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.