Poets logo

Frustration

An Acrostic (Yeah, I know...I'm addicted...judge me all you like)

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Frustration
Photo by taylor on Unsplash

Festering feverish feelings without relief - despite how hard Im try.

Ripping and rupturing my concentration, roping me into an irritating cycle

Useless in this state, I am.

Staggering and stammering

trying to fight back to get

relief, release and respite

are eluding me for now

the ultimate solution

is not one I want to choose, but

one I need to choose

need to dull out the frustration and irritation - then I can sleep and calm and forget - at least until I wake again

*

Thank you for reading!

Yes, I legitimately have an acrostic addiction. I am an acrosticoholic?

This acrostic - kind of an experiment for a larger project idea I have of jumping off the back of some key pieces from the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. Thinking of working on a book of acrostics.

We'll see.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed this one.

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Paul, you are the acrostic KING! You absolutely need to put together a collection! I'll be waiting to purchase.:) This one is just... woah. I'm amazed at the way you are able to create such depth with this style! The way you utilize those first letters and create a completely moving and raw piece out of them is stunning. I appreciate this piece so much– the desperation, the struggle, the desire for numbness... the vicious cycle. You nailed it. Fantastic work, as ALWAYS!

  • Good luck with the dulling. I sense a night of tossing & turning fast approaching.

  • Real Poeticabout a year ago

    The last line “Until I wake again” hit me! It’s so real. Sometimes sleeping is our only escape unless the nightmares come knocking ! Great acrostic. 💛

  • Yes, you're definitely an acrosticoholic but that's not a bad thing! Roping me into an irritating cycle. That line was soooo relatable!

  • Always a pleasure to read your work, acrostic or otherwise, Paul. (FYI: You probably intended to save this as a draft; "Unitl now, it has alluded me" should perhaps read as "Are eluding me for now".)

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Paul ~ I always 'Enjoy' your many 'Eclectic' Selections ~ and look forward to them ~ You do them with such 'Grace' Although I am "Frustrated" that the Newbie Audience hasn't ever heard of/or whistled to my tune 'Swinging on a Star' - A Fellow VM 'hood member - Jay

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.