Poets logo

Dont Count Me Out

One Day I Will

By Cathy DeslippePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Dont Count Me Out
Photo by Fernando @cferdophotography on Unsplash

Im never leaving my room.

I will never go outside again.

I have been hurt by so many.

Alone I will sit, for I shall never mend.

I was once strong and loved to be with others.

Never saw this in my eye.

A violent joke went terrible.

For then I almost did die.

I am broken into pieces.

I dont know what to do.

Sitting on a floor, fearing

who can I turn to?

It wasn't long

before the family reached for help for me.

It was hard to go on.

PTSD was my diagnosis you see.

Fear was the controller.

people were the worst.

Longing for a friendship.

Feeling as if I was cursed.

Now I am stronger.

for help, I did gain.

Seeking good people.

Never feeling like a pain.

It may have taken a while.

To go to a place or two.

With guidance and confidence.

I eventually followed it through.

It's one day at a time for me.

For PTSD can happen again.

Its finding good ways of coping.

Not wishing for it to happen again.

Just never feel alone.

You are not the only one.

We are heroes, we stand together.

Life will only get better, we will have fun.

In honour of those who suffer, you are never alone. Please if you feel afraid, pick up a phone. You are loved and cared for by so many. xoxo

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    🫵You are Awesome 🎯💯❤️❗

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Cathy ~ I would never count you out ~ Since my car crash I've been very lonely and so happy to have you 'Around' to often "Turn to" and relate as we always seem to! If you have a moment please see my 'Polyester' it may turn around a Reach-Back smile to you from my 'Goofy' past. - My Pleasure - Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.