Poets logo

LOVE IS AN INVESTMENT

where love is also the return

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
7
LOVE IS AN INVESTMENT
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

For all we know, love is not all,

It is not meat or drink,

Nor slumber,

Nor a roof against the rain.

**********************************************************************

Rose is red,

Blood is red,

Heart is red

A woman loves, and her love heals.

**********************************************************************

And if I thought for just one moment that this would be my last breath, I'd tell you I love you forever, even beyond death

If I thought that your face would be the last I see, I'd take a million pictures and save them just for me

If I thought for just one moment that your voice would be the last I'd hear, I'd listen attentively and promise not to shed a tear

If I thought for just one moment that your touch would be the last I'd feel, I'd embrace you and know that all this has been real

If I thought for just a moment that my heart would beat its last beat, I'd thank the Lord for allowing us to meet❤❤

love poems
7

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth24 days ago

    Very poignant and deeply emotional, Catherine!

  • Nothing lasts forever and that's what breaks my heart. Love your poem!

  • Emil indw25 days ago

    A lasting farewell :(

  • Rachel Deeming25 days ago

    Ah, Catherine, this was just lovely. A true love poem. I sense a little sadness too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.