Poets logo

Came With No Directions

MaMa's Story

By Cathy DeslippePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Came With No Directions
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I really did try; yes

I even broke down and cried.

Being a mama was all I ever wanted to do.

Then when both of you were born, I fell in love with you.

I stayed up nights, singing you a song.

I even made up words, for I always got them wrong.

I loved to dress you up in what I thought was cool.

Yet you look back and tell me, mama, that was cruel.

When I took ill, you both were mad at me.

Trust me, sweet child; it wasn't the way it was supposed to be.

I wished I could have changed everything for you.

Yet I had no control; there was nothing I could do.

Now you're grown up, still looking at me with hate.

I'm trying my best, but is it too late?

I knew you were young and could never understand.

It wasn't like a bandaid I could put on your hand.

Let it go; live life the best way it ever could be.

Because your mama loves you even more, I hope you hear that from me.

Illness, either physical or mental can cause so much for children to ever understand. Please always listen to your children, talk to them. Help them to understand. Fear is terrible and can make one ill. Please take a moment, drop everything and just be there. Most of all hug them and tell them you love them with all your heart.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    - I 'Hug' you for this - Jay

  • 🥹This was so emotional and well written 📝 Thanks for the message 💬 and I'm sure that if you let them read this Beautiful Poem, they could understand more of what you couldn't say vocally❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.