Poets logo

Don't Understand

Soul Search'N

By Dana ToliverPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Don’t Understand

No one sees behind closed doors

the deafening silence, the isolation

the ice cold air and the neglect we all shared

The knives stabbing you in the back

chipping away, day after day

caused shattered dreams

and your heart to crumble

Left out in the cold all alone

to pick up the shattered pieces of my broken heart

always living on the edge

with the weight of the world on my shoulders

on the verge of dying, I fell right over

Don’t understand why in my times of desperation

they turn their faces away and act as though

they don’t see the trials and tribulations

There is no escaping

the spiritless souls around me

bringing black clouds to cover me

keeping me sheltered from the truth

of this world that surrounds me

Don’t understand why

they say they love me and tell me lies

I, just, don’t understand why

they like to see me suffer and make me cry

time after time

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Dana Toliver

I wrote my first poem in 1990 not relaizing it would be the beginning to my forthcoming book titled SOUL SEARCH'N; the story of my life journey told through peoms and short stories. The content I post here are from my book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.