Poets logo

Do You Ever Feel Like?

Honestly, it's not my fault...

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Do You Ever Feel Like?
Photo by Eugene Chystiakov on Unsplash

Do you ever

feel like

just a conduit

a channel

when writing?

I sit down

concoct a plot

then a wickedness

takes over

My characters

have no chance

of escape

There fate's already sealed

I used to worry

about my characters

Now I know better

to worry and fret

The more I worry and fret

The more "he"

makes them suffer

makes me regret

To save my characters

I need to hide them

But he will find them

cut them, end them

Make them his pawn

in his awful game

Make them his piece

something to mourn

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: It's never my fault. Honestly. Never. Proof above.

haha. Hope you enjoyed my little testimony...

Here are a few others for your perusal, as per usual...

The rest of my work can be found at my profile here.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Haha! I was just chatting with Donna about this. If I write fiction (rare, but still) my characters take over and I'm just like, "do your thing, I'll just be over here slamming on the keyboard for you." lol!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Hahah funny! Must have already liked this one.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi Paul ~ Who me write? ~ I blame my 'Alter Ego' Jay

  • N.E. Light8 months ago

    Love the anecdote about pawns.

  • A little bit of auto-writing going on? Stories & characters do have a tendency to take on a life of their own.

  • I have no connection whatsoever with my characters and I kill them all off happily. I raise them like pigs for slaughter 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    Yes! Sometimes I start writing something with an idea in mind, and then my story will take off in a different direction. Like all it needed was for me to breathe life into it, then suddenly it becomes sentient and I'm just along for the ride😅

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Scary!! I always say, I write right off the top of my head. I don't watch scary movies or read scary usually. I can't imagine writing scary. Sometimes I get into reading it by accident as it's someone I am following. I like their poetry. ❤️😉

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Its complex isnt it. I can de-romanticise it and feel like I feel like a conduit because actually I am taking the characterisations and features of 1000 people I have read or met and creating another one from all of that. Or I can romanticise it and feel like the stories are wanting to tell themselves and I am enabling that to happen - depends on my mood!

  • Zara Blume8 months ago

    I definitely feel I’m ‘just a conduit’ when I’m writing, but my characters always triumph in the end. I think our characters are an extension of how we’re feeling, so those who torture their characters… are feeling tortured themselves, or feeling powerless to help loved ones they see suffering. The stories are a release. That’s my theory, anyway. And every story needs conflict, so if you can numb yourself to the conflict of being alive, you’ll never be a storyteller. 🤍

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Yes, I love the feeling when I’m “channeling” as you do deftly put it! All of my best work has felt that way.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    There are stories I have written that way. My mind is someone’s’ puppet .

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is so relatable and well done. My brother also writes and we often say to each other “my characters’ told me this about themselves” or “they’ve run off and done this” . Nonwriters don’t understand that we have minimal control over this. Our characters pick up the plot and run away with it! I swear I didn’t mean for my character to have a dark tragic backstory, they just told me about it and who was I to tell them they were wrong?😂 This needs to be addressed more! Thank you Paul.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Yes, I have felt like that

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.