Poets logo

Do You Ever?

Some thoughts...

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
Do You Ever?
Photo by Jesse Bowser on Unsplash

Do you ever just sit

Sit and wonder?

Wonder about nothing

Nothing at all

All I have to say is

Is that I'm glad for you

You have something

Something I don't

Don't think I've ever

Ever had before

Before, at least not

Not since I was young

Young mind full of hope

Hope, food, music, words

Words and thoughts

Thoughts and fears

Fears and anxieties

Anxieties that plague

Plague me even at peace rest

Peace rest - what is that?

That is something

Something I wonder...

*

Thank you for reading!

Here are a couple of others you might want to check out:

You can also check out the rest of my work.

nature poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (36)

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Oh, this one has all the feels, my friend! My mind is always overflowing with thoughts and unfortunately, my thoughts wake me up at night :( I love how you contrasted the hopes and dreams one has while young with the reality once older - the reflection that happens when thinking about what you have vs what other people have, and trying to balance that. Thank you for writing this. I'm not sure how I missed this - congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Chloe Gilholy12 months ago

    I mirror what everyone else has said.

  • Just Daniel12 months ago

    Beautifully written and I really like the style of connecting the lines. It is a story well-woven and I feel like the message relates and reaches out to more people, now more than ever. I also wish I could just sit and think of nothing sometimes, just sit and enjoy the company of nature and silence. There's just a lot of noise and negativity in the world right now and what can we do but put a poetic spin to life in hopes that the arts and our connection as human beings can help us bring the world together to become a better place for this generation and for future generations. Thank you so much for sharing this amazing piece of work and wishing you a wonderful rest of your day! ^^

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I find it almost impossible to clear my mind. The only hope I have is to direct it to want I want to think about instead of all the crap that I don't. I'm with everyone else that this was such a cool form to hit the point over and over. Fantastic work and such a well-deserved Top Story :)

  • How would I know, if I was thinking of nothing at all? If I was thinking of nothing, what would there be to remember, lol? I remember thinking of more than one thing at the same time. I thought if I could simply harness that, just think of what I could accomplish!

  • Oooo, I loved how each line starts with the last word of the previous line! While you were doing your wondering in the poem, I was wondering if I should try this format. It's really cool!

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I love the form on this poem where the last word begins the next line. Beautiful. So love the meaning to. Well done ❀️ Congratulations on Top story too! β™₯️

  • Joelle EπŸŒ™12 months ago

    Awww Paul. I think youre a beautiful soul to be glad for the person who has this even though you feel you don’t. I’m confident it’s still in there. πŸ’— love to you

  • I'm not sure what you call this form of poetry. But I love how the last word of each line connects to the first word of the next line. I totally love the inversion of "peace/rest". Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Paul, this was a really relatable stream of thought for me. I also am one of those humans who always has something going on upstairs, although I’ve occasionally been accused otherwise! 🀣 Congratulations on Top Story, you are really rocking it lately!

  • Well done, Paul. Thought-provoking and creative!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • This is Awesome and Very Creativeβ€οΈπŸ˜‰πŸ“ I like this one, Paul πŸŽ‰also Congratulations on your Top Story❗❗

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Howdy neighbor. Congrats on your Top Story...Thoughts are sometimes not my friend. I have to tell myself, "Next" when one of those unmotivated and unwanted thoughts come barging in.

  • Test12 months ago

    Wonder, yes. About nothing, no. I wonder about everything. β€˜All I have to say is I’m glad for you’ πŸ₯³. I like your beat. Congratulations, Paul.

  • Dorothy Gibbs12 months ago

    YES

  • A. Lenae12 months ago

    Love the rhythm and form of this poem, adds to the ethereal and pondering tone. This is great and asks those important questions about what a lot of us are chasing!

  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    It is impossible for me to think about nothing; my mind is more like how you describe here so beautifully. Cool form! Love the flow that’s created thru repeating the last word of each line as the first of the next. I may try this later!

  • ema12 months ago

    Sometimes I try but it's impossible, more than thinking about nothing, I've learned to select intrusive, negative and repetitive thoughts, sometimes I succeed, sometimes I don't. It's good sometimes to pretend you have a "Young mind full of hope". I love your poem!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Returning to this lovely poem to say congrats on top story Paul! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    My mind never rests either! 😩. Congrats on the TS!! This was really cool, Paul! 🍩

  • Veronica Coldiron12 months ago

    I love the tag lines that reappear in the following lines. It really drives home the meaning of each verse. GREAT poem!! LOVED THIS!!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    I wish I could think about nothing, but my mind won't quit blabbering. Excellent, relatable. Congrats on the TS, buddy.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Congrats Paul! πŸ₯‚

  • Now I am thinking about thinking of nothing! :) Great poem!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.