Poets logo

Distractions

Don’t work

By Amanda McGuirePublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Distractions
Photo by Matt Quinn on Unsplash

Sweat on my brow, concrete under my feet. The sounds of the city drown out my thoughts.

A wandering tourist in a heat wave searching for distractions.

Sending pictures hoping for wanted reactions.

While exploring, I find you in unexpected places.

Little reminders in a sea of unknown faces.

Even thousands of miles apart there remains an ache for you in my heart.

I find myself overwhelmed by the pace of this crowded city.

Despite all the adventures and new experiences.

I long for the comfort of your touch, but settle instead for brief conversations.

Each night as I escape to the crisp sheets and air conditioned air, as my head lands on the pillow I imagine instead resting on your chest.

I awake the next day and start again.

Staying busy to keep my mind occupied.

But even though my thoughts wander, my heart brings them back to you.

love poems

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dawnxisoul393art5 days ago

    The contrast between the crowded city and the quiet intimacy of imagined moments with their loved one evokes a sense of nostalgia, reminding us of the strength and depth of human connections, nice, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Amanda McGuireWritten by Amanda McGuire

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.