Poets logo

Distinction

Life is but a Game

By Mike OrtegaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

Done loading.

I’m strapped with a .50 caliber Desert Eagle as a side arm

And a M16 assault rifle as my primary weapon.

We descend out of the helicopter,

Sliding down a one and a half inch rope.

First time out of my home country.

I made a new friend, Joe,

Who actually volunteered to come here.

My feet finally touch the ground.

HOLY SHIT!!!

Somebody just fell across from me.

Joe didn’t hold on to the rope tight enough;

He fell over 200 ft to his death.

Blood everywhere.

-Dammit Joe, I thought you’d back me up.-

My squad leader tells me to cover him as he

Drags Joe’s body behind a sedan.

Three bogies: I pop off two of them.

Damn I’m good. I’m bound to win this.

Sergeant has Joe’s body hidden behind the car,

But I think he should have just left the dead body there.

I mean I appreciated Joe as a person,

But this is no laughing matter.

It’s time to get serious.

I don’t want to lose.

I hustle over to a van about 20 yards up the street.

I pop off a few more heads,

Four more down on my part.

I better get a medal for this.

I hear some gibberish behind me.

I panic.

And I turn around shooting the wall.

Where did that noise come from?

It didn’t take long for me see the bogie

On the roof of the building right next to me.

Flash.

Bang.

Fuck, Game Over.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Mike Ortega

A proud Bostonian of Puerto Rican decent. Mike relishes in overcoming adversity. A man of principle, respect; Mike often tackles subjects that are deep, personal and timeless, all with a bit a humor. @mic.the.entertainer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.