Poets logo

The Well Runs Dry

A father's passing

By Mike OrtegaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2022
40

Wasn't always one to live off the land,

Not like my father.

But here the roots spread deep,

The earth is rich and fertile;

A thriving place for anything looking to grow,

With just a little love and nurture.

.

Wasn't ever one to get love and nurtured,

Not from my father.

But here he dedicated himself;

he grew vegetables, planted by his father before him,

Vegetables that kept his mind sharp and his eyes keen.

.

Before now, I was somewhat of a rolling stone,

Not like my father.

Here he was committed;

He even married once, and with this wife planted fruits,

Fruits that kept him kind and sweet and his heart satisfied.

.

I have always tried to be self sufficient,

Just like my father.

Here the land depended on him;

He dug out a well, lined every stone with his bare hands,

Stones that gave him a solid foundation, for his land and for himself.

.

But I am not

Just like my father.

Here isn't where he spent all of his time;

He lived to experience life, planted seeds in foreign fertile lands,

Seeds he hoped would grow, tall and strong, to represent his legacy.

.

So here i am, on the land

Of my father's.

Where the vegetables will sharpen my mind and my senses,

The fruit will sweeten me and fill my heart with a love so foreign yet familiar.

Here I stand tall and strong, but still I fear of failure

.

Because the well runs dry

And I am not my father.

Here the air is still, the fruit falls off its trees

To the dusty bed where sprouts of buried vegetables lay dehydrated.

Here I fall to my knees, staring down into the darkness that once held the life my father gave this land.

.

And into the well, fell a tear

For my father.

And here I will stay, until I fill my father's well.

Until i can understand how to dedicate myself, how to savor commitment,

Until my father's land can depend on me.

Until I can plant my own seeds,

Seeds I hope will grow, tall and strong

.

Just like my father.

sad poetry
40

About the Creator

Mike Ortega

A proud Bostonian of Puerto Rican decent. Mike relishes in overcoming adversity. A man of principle, respect; Mike often tackles subjects that are deep, personal and timeless, all with a bit a humor. @mic.the.entertainer

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.