Poets logo

Dissonance

Simon Petrikov fan-poetry

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
10

I wanna sing to you

I wanna be your best voice

All the cards and cords are tired and tied

Stretched and unbalanced and wired/weird

I wanna be there for you

But you’re out of my reach

Even as you’re standing before me

I feel the dissonance rising

In my eyes, I wanna be what you need

You’re my daughter, in my heart

Marcy, I love you as my blood

A deep and ancient bond

I don’t have my voice anymore

But you must see how I feel

I wanna sing to you

I wanna be your best voice

All the cards and cords are tired and tied

Stretched and unbalanced and wired/weird

I see your grace in my old self

And now you sing for me

Breaking past all the barriers

A booming cataclysm

Like a new catharsis that rips & heals

I almost always get it wrong

But not with you

My darling daughter

One day I’ll break the dissociation

Dissonance

And blow your black clouds away.

—-

Author note: I’m struggling to cope with being away from my family and kids as I spent most of this holiday in the hospital. My third baby, a boy named David, is due March 20th. We had found out he had Spina Bifida And I had a surgery to repair his lesion. The surgery was a success and I was able to come home within a week. Unfortunately, I was only able to stay at home for less than two weeks as my water broke on Christmas Eve. They are trying to keep him from being born premature. Now, I will be here at the hospital until he is born(6-7 weeks). I am stressed and anxious as I miss my family and my kids very much. I wrote this to help me cope.

heartbreakStream of Consciousness
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Sending positive vibes & virtual hugs!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Prayers & blessings.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Excellent poem Melissa, But I’m so sad to hear you are back in the Hospital. Hoping things work out for the best and you are distracting yourself much ! thinking of you..I’m sorry I’ve missed so many of your pieces.. Anyhow, best wishes and positive vibes sent your way my friend!!

  • C. Rommial Butler4 months ago

    Wishing you the best! I loved watching Adventure Time with my kids. Very deep and meaningful art hidden in a kids show, as I covered in my essay "Percy Shelly and Bad Jubies". It's a connection I appreciate here. Many blessings and much love!

  • Omgggg! I'm so sorry Merly! I didn't know! The last we had a chat, you were recovering. I'm so sorry, I should have reached out but I was afraid I'd be annoying you if I kept texting 🥺 I'm so sorry you have to be in the hospital for almost 2 months until he is born. I remember you said they would induce you only only March 14. Gosh I really hope you're doing okay 😭😭😭😭 Sending you and your baby lots of prayers, love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    I can't even imagine the strength it takes to endure this situation, and your writing is a poignant outlet for those emotions. Wishing you strength and hoping for brighter days ahead. I will keep you and yours in my prayers Warm hugs!! ❤❤

  • Brenton F4 months ago

    A beautiful and moving piece Melissa! Sending all our thoughts and love to you and yours!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Felt this...and was a nice reminder of the Ice King. Sending you hope and love, Melissa and will keep you and yours in my prayers.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.