Poets logo

Hypocrisy’s Harbour

a dramatic but therapeutic take on a toxic work environment

By Poppy Published 17 days ago 1 min read
13
Image Created on Midjourney

Jail bars

Ice cold between my closed hands

I hated the lack of clean air

But adored the feeling of

A roof over my head

(I knew what hail felt like)

I resented them for

The whip against my back

My skin peeling apart

Over and over and over

But maybe I resented them more

For the way they held out their hand after

The ignorance they feigned

Towards the blood on

That dark dirt floor

Hatred pooled in my palms

Grew across my mouth like a muzzle

Tightened my muscles to the point

Of a barely contained explosion

I despised them for how

They blamed others

Looked down on them

For their inability to walk

When they were the ones

Who cut the tendons of their legs

Tied bricks to their shoulders

They held people’s

Heads under water

Then complained about

The silence

Stabbed knives into flesh

Then rolled their eyes

At the screaming

I loathed them for their

Inconceivable inhumanity

But nothing hurt quite like

Your ability to walk past

And do nothing to stop it

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this, here’s another poem about the same topic:

fact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)14 days ago

    Well that was deep and dark... I'm not sure what I was expecting but that wasn't it. I'm kind of speechless as to how this is settling with me!! So well written and yet so thought provoking for me... I feel like I've had a veil lifted and I can't unsee what you've pointed out! Great work Poppy!!

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    I forgot this was about workplace hostility and started thinking, "slavery." Basically the same thing, though...

  • D.K. Shepard16 days ago

    This hit hard! Very relatable! Loved the lines, “They held people’s Heads under water Then complained about The silence”. A toxic work environment is so stifling. I do hope this was indeed therapeutic!

  • Sadly, these emotive words vividly portray an all too common scenario 🥺

  • Manisha Dhalani17 days ago

    Heartbreaking. I can feel the pain in this poem.

  • Yes, they would do all that shit to us and then complain when we break from the weight of it all. Loved your poem!

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    Oh that last bit cuts, deeply.

  • G. A. Botero17 days ago

    Really powerful. I read it as a critique on our society even beyond the workplace.

  • Beautiful poem! Thinking of hatred as a muzzle and the internal memory of remembering what hail feels like represented that feeling of not being able to do anything because your own neck is stuck out there incredibly well. Great job!

  • Dana Crandell17 days ago

    Therapeutic, indeed! I do NOT miss the traditional work environment! Well written, with your as-always marvelous style, Poppy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.