Poets logo

Disbelief

not everything turns out as we wish

By Randy BakerPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
image generated by author using Midjourney

You want to know

when I’ll make something of myself.

*

You want to know

when I’ll put my dreams away.

*

You never ask out loud,

but I hear your unspoken questions.

*

They’ve become quite clear.

Demanding to know when I’ll grow up

*

Your disappointment is etched there

across your face for all to read;

*

an angry announcement

aimed particularly at me.

*

You’ve grown to feel

that what you need is all that I’m not

*

You’ve grown to feel

you deserve more than what I’ve provided.

*

I know that this life, our life,

is not what you had hoped for.

*

I’m at a loss, though,

to understand your change of heart

*

in anything more than the most general terms,

for we no longer speak

*

to each other,

or in the same language.

*

You’re fully intent to ground yourself,

clinging for dear life to this earth.

*

Me, I’ve always looked to the clouds.

Deep in my soul, I actually thought I could fly.

*

I just needed someone to help me get airborne.

I guess we were both wrong.

*

You wanted something I couldn’t give.

Turns out you don’t like fairy tales and

*

you damn sure don’t like clichés.

You’re tired of missing the things in life that aren’t free.

*

All I ever wanted was

for you to believe in me.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Heather Zieffle 5 months ago

    This resonates a lot with me. I Love this so much!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This is so brutal...so honest. Randy. Great work.

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.