Poets logo

Genesis

a beginning

By Randy BakerPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

Downstream from where the girls come to bathe

I lift rocks to stir the janga,

casting my net and a hopeful eye

toward the pool where she stands, like Eve,

glistening in sunlight and water.

We have danced this dance of coincidence before.

*

As if she weren’t perfection and purity,

she makes a pageant of washing her figure; firm,

rivaled only by the salute of my flesh,

hard, blue; like the mahoe tree.

I am Adam and her presence beckons.

Together we could populate the earth.

*

My catch is small; my desire on a grander scale.

Hefting my pail and net, I wade to the shore

as she does, on a trajectory towards life.

We’ve danced this dance before, but only as prelude.

Today, the taste of creation permeates the air.

Our eyes touch and Eden is born on the riverbank.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Author's Note: This poem was first published in 2009 in the journal, tongues of the ocean (Bahamas).]

Free Verse

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is quite good. Well done, Randy.

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.