Poets logo

Different Sides

A poem

By Mather SchneiderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Different Sides
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

This first night in our new

house, our first house, we sleep

on different sides of the bed

than we had previously done.

In our former apartment

the layout had been different

and my wife doesn’t like sleeping

next to the window

she thinks someone will sneak in

and steal her.

It’s hard to sleep this first

night

with the ghosts of all the previous owners

(it’s an old house)

and the strange sounds and smells

and cats or whatever they are

walking on the roof.

I put my arm around her and I think

about all those years I slept alone

and then ending up homeless

and sleeping in the park,

waking up with sprinklers in my face

or early dog walkers scowling at me

or cops

and sleeping in alleys

dreaming on concrete

dirty and hard

and cold.

That was only 5 years ago

hard to believe

to think how far I have come

with her

this lovely woman

and now this house

her house and mine

where I lay awake even though I keep

telling myself

there is nothing to be

afraid of.

END

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mather Schneider

I was a cab driver in Tucson, Arizona for many years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.