Poets logo

The Blue Mail Boxes

A poem

By Mather SchneiderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Blue Mail Boxes
Photo by Daria Nepriakhina on Unsplash

The yellow cab pulls up to St. Mary’s Hospital

and a man limps over.

You here for John Vernon? he says.

Thank fucking God, he says

getting painfully in the back.

413 N. Cherry St, he says.

Where’s the seatbelt?

Can I smoke? No? I understand,

not your fault.

Jesus, look at me

I look like a god damned Ethiopian.

You wouldn’t know it but I’m only 44.

2 months ago the doctors told me

I had 6 months to live

and now every week I go to that hell-hole

to get my stomach pumped.

My liver’s shot and all

the bad shit just flows

into my stomach.

Today they took out a gallon and a

half.

I used to drink a lot but I never

considered myself a drunk

you know?

I’ve made some mistakes, I ain’t saying

I’m innocent

but I saw a lot of people do a lot more

and they’re still kicking.

Nobody said life was

fair, I guess

at least I’ve got no family

hanging around

you know?

Here, this is me

turn in

at the blue mail boxes.

Sorry it’s not a long fare.

Careful of the speed bumps.

Just go straight down

until you can’t go anymore.

I’ll get out there.

END

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mather Schneider

I was a cab driver in Tucson, Arizona for many years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.