Poets logo

Did they shoot him?

"Gunshots"

By Gloria PenelopePublished about a month ago 1 min read
2
Did they shoot him?
Photo by Acton Crawford on Unsplash

I heard gunshots outside.

I pondered what had happened.

Just like everyone who heard them.

After a while, there was a bit of noise outside.

People screamed.

Asking each other who it could be.

I wasn't sure what was going on.

However, I was terrified to walk outdoors and see what was going on.

I went into my bedroom to sleep.

But the noise persisted.

As if they were yelling out someone's name.

Somebody I know.

I asked myself.

What happened.

I'm still frightened of walking out of my fence.

It was late in the evening.

I tried calling my husband on his phone.

It rang, but was not answered.

The noise continued outside.

I asked myself why he wasn't coming home.

Is my husband OKAY?

I asked myself.

Why isn't he answering my calls?

I had lost my comfort.

Following the gunshots and noise outside,

I started thinking about something.

Something inconceivable.

Perhaps they shot him.

What will I do if this actually happened to him?

The police arrived at the scene.

30 Minutes Later,

There was a knock on the door.

I went to open.

That was my hubby.

He had blood on his clothes.

I shouted, believing he had been shot.

Oh, he came home safely.

It was not him, after all.

He was merely trying to aid his neighbor.

Our neighbor was shot in front of my husband.

My man arrived home safely.

sad poetryvintageheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

I create poetry, short stories, books, and articles based on my crazy thoughts and wild ideas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”about a month ago

    Great job ♡

  • “M”about a month ago

    This poem gives you many feelings as you read it, such as fear, anticipation, and happiness

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Living in fear, discovering that violence is never a pleasant neighbor.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.