Poets logo

The wanting

Crowley and Aziraphale (Good Omens)

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
6
The wanting
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

I can't adjust my hearing. I love your harshness. Your brash, loud noise. I want it all inside of me. It feels that it was always a part of me, but just misplaced like an old sock missing from a pair, hiding in plain sight. My frantic, religious terror is yet still a trauma I have only healed from with, of course is ironic, your very harsh and persistent kiss.

I want it. I want it all. I want you more than I need to exist, to hear your anger fills me with want.

I want you as I would want to breathe, fly, sing, dance, yell, scream.

As a veil I am clouded in the puff of single sheets of a pure white Angelic prison.

So soft and silent, more restricting than any dark and deep cell.

I want. Yes because you forced me awake to know how want feels. How it breeds. How it articulates. How it drinks in all the worst and best parts of you. How it hangs jealously like an awkward tool sideways on the wall.

Yes, I want.

I know it's only because you're feeling the painful wanting too, that we can itch it so well together without words.

I want you to know that I know this.

It's a terrible thing to share it without words. So I'll just say it

I want you, I need you, forever, forever, eternity and even never.

Wings that flutter at the very dream of kissing you.

You dark yellow demon, damn it all,

Yes, I want

I want

You made me

Live, it feels like a taunt

But no, I have to tell you

The way you haunt me

Makes me truly alive and giddy

No apology dance will do

Just be kind and be mine

I want all of you, and for you to want it too

love poems
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    Your poem has a great intensity or power in each line amazing

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    Such burning.

  • The longing here could be felt so intensely! Loved your poem Merly!

  • "I want you, I need you, forever, forever, eternity and even never." All is said in that line!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.