Poets logo

Deep thoughts, on a Sunday night.

Musings.

By Hannah MoorePublished 21 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024

I need to dispose of this sock.

There's a hole at the toe,

Through which fleshy bits show,

And it causes those near me to mock.

=

I need to just throw it away,

The sole is worn thin,

It belongs in the bin,

It's threadbare and starting to fray.

=

Yet its twin remains in fine fettle,

Its weave is intact,

But the two have a pact,

And I'm not sure I quite have the mettle.

=

So tonight as I undress for bed,

I must make my choice,

With tremulous voice,

Is there life yet or are they both dead?

=

My toe is now pinkly extruding.

If just one is condemned

But must die with its friend,

Can I pretend I don't see it protruding?

=

Damnation to such unjust law!

I can choose, I was born free,

Both go in the laundry,

And next week we'll do this once more!

For Fun

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (35)

  • T. Licht13 days ago

    It's amazing how you turn socks into something so profound!

  • L.C. Schäfer15 days ago

    You can wear odd socks. I promise you nothing happens 😁

  • Lamar Wiggins16 days ago

    Ha! Sadly, I'm wearing what you just described. It's amazing how some of them wear faster than others. Just like you, I will contemplate condemning them next time, lol.

  • Awesome work! Love this read. Keep up he good work. When you get a chance please check out my work let me know your thoughts.

  • With the extra cash, you can get your sock darned now. Hallelujah!!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Donna Fox (HKB)18 days ago

    This was fun Hannah!! I personally throw the "holey" sock away and keep its twin because I have a think for wearing "similar" but also mismatched socks. So that's also another option??? But I do love the relatability and whimsy of this piece!! Great work and congrats on Top Story!!

  • TahimaAni18 days ago

    great poem..loved it.

  • JBaz18 days ago

    Oh so true….but it’s my favourite sock. Thanks for the laugh Congratulations

  • Babs Iverson18 days ago

    Relatable!!! Fun and entertaining poem!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Khan18 days ago

    This is stunning! Congrats on top story ❤️

  • Margaret Brennan18 days ago

    congratulations on TS. This is hilarious. I love it.

  • Carol Townend18 days ago

    I love this fun theme, and yes I'm a member of the 'I don't like throwing out my socks' brigade!

  • what a great poem, loved it! congrats on ts!

  • Congrats on your TS.

  • Christy Munson18 days ago

    Darn it! Also, congratulations on Top Story! 🥳

  • shanmuga priya18 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • I LOVED this. Such ponderings. The rhythm reminded me of a song by X Ambassadors (Conversations with my friends) Give it a listen and tell me if you agree. Also, I just subscribed to you, I can't believe I hadn't before

  • Raihana H.18 days ago

    Ah a serious crisis indeed. Do not throw them away! It was very fun to read it and definitely deserves to be the top story! Congrats!

  • Paul Stewart18 days ago

    If you had a five dollars for ruined bits of clothing you've shared on Top Stories, you'd be...well whatever. I started that joke with all the confidence of a comedy legend and then backed out of it. lol. Anyway, nice to see one of my fave writers and buds here getting the recognition she deserves. Congrats on a fun Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Haha. That was fun, and probably why most of my socks are white. Boring, but there's always something to match.

  • Anu Mehjabin18 days ago

    Your playful words bring a smile and remind us to face decisions with a light heart. And congrats on your top story🎉

  • Katarzyna Popiel19 days ago

    I'm so glad I'm not the only one who does this! Actually, the conundrum of an unpaired sock has been so unbearable that I found my solution: buying them in bulk. There's nothing like having 10 pairs of same-type socks if you need something to take your mind off deep existential crises!

  • Shirley Belk20 days ago

    Oh, darn it!

  • D.K. Shepard20 days ago

    Deep thoughts indeed! Charming peek at some sock centered drama!

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.