Poets logo

Death's Visit

My perspective

By Isobel AckermanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Death is a theif,

he takes,

he steals,

there is no inbetween.

When everything seems pleasant,

and everything seems sweet,

he takes the good,

and leaves you with greif.

However, the memories of the departed do stay,

although they take awhile to come into play.

You can not avoid your end,

whenever that may be,

otherwise Death will feel cheated,

as that is not how it's meant to be.

Some treat Death like an old friend,

whereas I would treat him like my enemy.

I don't want to face him,

I don't know where he'd take me.

I think when Death suddenly appears,

it is untimely,

unjust.

Death is unfair,

full of mistrust.

Is Death a friend or foe?

Should we try to stop him,

or let him help us to let things go.

Authors note:I really enjoy involving personification in my poems. Giving things life in the words I write. This poem on Death was left unfinished in my notebook, and I was s desperate to finish it. Feel free to contact me on my facebook (Isobel Ackerman) to suggest any ideas for poems I should write next!

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Isobel Ackerman

United Kingdom based | Student writer, interested in creative writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.