Poets logo

Death of an Addict

Just always remember you have to stay sober if I ever die as an addict...

By Cassey AguiarPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

If I ever die an addict and my story must be told.

Let it be a lesson for the never resting souls.

Don't brag about all the pills I took, of the overdoses or the jugs that I shook.

Don't glorify me by telling stories of what I've done, or brag about things I can't remember, even though I was told we had so much fun.

Just remember the pain I've caused to those, who stood by my side and loved me the most.

Remember the jail time, rehabs and hospitals, let them be a reminder that no one's unstoppable.

Remember the months that I wouldn't call, pretended I didn't really care at all.

Remember the tears in my children's eyes or when they cried for their mommy but mommy was high.

Or too busy chasing a fix, what good would I be to them when I was sick.

Remember all of my friends I watched die from dope, all of their dreams just gone up in smoke.

Along with their heart, future and Hope.

I only cared for one thing that's all that I needed, I remember all the times that my mother had pleaded.

Then the times I went through withdrawals, so sick that I couldn't even crawl.

I thought I was dying, I was sure it was over, but even harder than that where my attempts to stay sober.

So don't tell stories of the "Good times" when I obviously wasn't that good at it.

Just always remember you have to stay sober if I ever die an addict...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cassey Aguiar

Hello fellow creators! My name is Cassey and I've always enjoyed writing! I never thought I was really that good, buy Vocal has played a very important role on my road to becoming a writer. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.