Poets logo

The Myth of Love at First Sight

You won't believe until you've found the right one... The rest are just infatuated, which does not equal love...

By Cassey AguiarPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
The Myth of Love at First Sight
Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

Love at first sight has always seemed unreal for me.

In order to fall in love you must learn their heart and know what they need.

Beauty is fleeting, times move so fast, so how can one look tell you something will last.

Of course the beginning is always easy as you're both trying to impress.

You put your best best foot forward, showing them your best. Maybe it's not love at first sight, but infatuation, both of you clueless to the upcoming trials you will be facing.

So love at first sight I don't believe in that at all. I do believe in rare connections that you could have never called.

My aspect on love has been tainted so much, I have opened up my heart only to have it crushed.

They tell me I will find the one and I will know it when it's right. I'll feel it deep inside as if Ive finally seen the light.

Destiny is certain, I just don't know what mine will be. Of course I want true love but does that true love even want me?

These thoughts are constantly probing my mind, giving me reason to reach for a sign.

As I'm contemplating these things in my mind, a gentleman approaches the two glasses of wine.

I accept the glass I shouldn't be rude. Mesmerized by the green light in his eyes, I wonder who is this dude.

I've surely not met him I can ever forget those eyes, he stares at me with such intensity that it brings tears to my eyes.

I'm not even embarrassed of the emotion I showed to this stranger. I can feel he's more than a friend to me and I'm not in any danger. We start talking about friends, family and life. Then here light tapping our tables saying they're closing for the night.

He insists on walking me home and I do not object, even though this gentleman I had only just met. He kissed me lightly on the cheek when we reached my door, then asked if he could call me because we both knew this was something more.

These feelings came so fast it is pretty frightening. I don't deserve this, I'll probably be struck down by lighting.

I've never believed in love at first sight but all of that changed with just one night.

Maybe it doesn't happen until you find the right one. When fate finally brings you together, just don't get the urge to run.

I ran for so many years, avoiding getting hurt. I still hated being lonely, for what it was worth.

I do not know what will happen, I'm scared to death right now, but I've promised myself to release all my doubts.

I'm happy for the moment, and I will enjoy it as long as I'm alive. I now see the truth in love at first sight, I'm breaking out of my darkness, so I can walk in the light.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Cassey Aguiar

Hello fellow creators! My name is Cassey and I've always enjoyed writing! I never thought I was really that good, buy Vocal has played a very important role on my road to becoming a writer. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.