Poets logo

Dear Vocal...

<Smooth Poetry Entry #2>

By Tiffany Gordon Published 5 months ago 1 min read
45
Dear Vocal...
Photo by Gio Bartlett on Unsplash

Dear Vocal Management:

For me, the creation of A VOCAL INSPIRATION COMMUNITY where religious themes could be freely expressed and explored would be a dream come true; it could be the perfect pick-me-up for those who found themselves feeling 50 shades of blue!

For the elements of Faith have historically soothed the hearts & minds of many...

Its impact larger than a thousand oceans and smoother than the faces of a gazillion, copper pennies...

Please consider giving the topic of FAITH on Vocal a fair chance! For it has the ability to transform lives for the better, like a magnificent, world-wind romance!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

inspirational
45

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Ali SP2 months ago

    I love this Tiffany! So well put together. My faith is near and dear to my heart and I would love to write about it. Such a beautiful poem.

  • Yusuf Alam2 months ago

    💯👌👌👌Tiffany

  • Well said! “ For the elements of Faith have historically soothed the hearts & minds of many...”

  • I agree I’m really surprised they haven’t done a faith community yet

  • Sharika3 months ago

    Platforms with non bias views are beautiful, offering room to grow is an amazing idea. Awesome and well done💕

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Tiffany I love this and the way you constructed the letter to Vocal! Very interesting and thought provoking idea!!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I SO AGREE! When I first started creating on Vocal, they were so strict on their policies on "religion." But faith and spirituality is so much more than religion. I almost cancelled because I thought...I need to be true to God and maybe this isn't where I should be. But now, I think the policies have lightened up a little, for which I am grateful. You made so many valid points here. Thank you for the courage to stand!!!

  • Davina Z. McKee5 months ago

    I’m so glad you posted this, and that the comments are back! You know what I find funny? You said you wanted a community for inspiration and faith—but people started talking about their negative experiences with religion. Don’t get me wrong, I practice a religion. I like the structure it gives me. It’s just strange people went there when you didn’t. Someone be agnostic and have faith stronger than a pastor. Personally, I wouldn’t want to live my life without faith. And I wouldn't still be here to make art.

  • Moe Radosevich5 months ago

    for the record, I have no problem with this idea, I’m overwhelmed by the negativity but, I understand, just know I’m okay with it but “who am I”

  • J. S. Wade5 months ago

    I know your heart is true. As much as I would like to share my faith on Vocal I think the standard policy should stand. Otherwise it will become a battleground like me see in the world around us. There are those who want that battle. In many ways Vocal has loosened their policy the past two years where prior any allusion to God or a particular faith was quickly nixed. 🥰

  • Terry Varner5 months ago

    Tiffany, I enjoy your writing and was wondering if you would provide feedback on a children's story I wrote. I'm not sure if this is the right forum for the request, but have no other idea how to contact you.

  • Religion provides comfort to some but is responsible for some of the greatest atrocities we have ever seen. I have known good religious people but many more bad ones

  • Antoinette L Brey5 months ago

    .Good idea

  • Alexander McEvoy5 months ago

    This is an interesting opinion, Tiffany. Can’t say I agree with you, mine and my family’s only experience with religion was residential schools designed to perpetuate genocide on behalf of the church and government, but I understand that many people find comfort in faith. I hope you get the community you want and that it gives you the comfort you seek.

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Your unique take on the challenge definitely wowed and surprised Tiffany! I think that Vocal would have their hands full with this as a community, but submitting a proposal for HOW it can work AND be harmonious with checks/balances/guidelines would garner more traction for it with them in my view. Consider doing the groundwork with 'due diligence' to showcase the benefits and troubleshoot the negatives adequately. Input from varying belief systems in your proposal would lend credibility. That would be my thought for any request to a platform or institution if I wanted them to adopt something new or certain measures.

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    This is such a controversial topic. The world of "Woke" is upon us. We have 'woked' up to accept everything else whether we want to or not. So this is the perfect time to woke up to faith, which has always been the strength and backbone of humanity. No matter who we are, in times of dire suffering, we always utter words of faith for comfort. It comes naturally to call upon that which soothes the heart the most. If swear words and cussing if perfectly acceptable on the platform, so should everything positive for the soul and psyche.

  • I'm not sure if I would be classified as a person with faith or not. I mean I believe in God but I've lost faith in religion. So what does that make me? 😅 I agree with Colt though. There should be a community for this. Also, like Rick and you mentioned that there's Swamp and Potent respectively, I feel controversy isn't a good reason for them to not have faith community. So I hope they make this happen!

  • Test5 months ago

    💙 Great idea. Faith is at the foundation of all of us, whether we know it or not.

  • Amen, sister! The only story I ever had rejected on Vocal was because it addressed issues of faith.

  • Wonderful Tiffany. I understand why Vocal has yet to create a community for spirituality and religion. Because of the nature of the topic being controversial. But I may argue that Vocal does have a community called The swamp for political conversations. Politics are just as controversial and divisive probably even more than religion. I think religion and spirituality should have its community.

  • Colt Henderson5 months ago

    I don't have any faith, but there should be a place for it.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Well, when you put it like that, how can anyone say no. This was a marvelous string of words, Tiff. Excellent work! I’m onboard! 💖💖

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Superbly and beautifully written!!! Love the smooth inspirational poem!!! Bravo!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I totally agree with you 🥰I love how you express your feeling on having a faith community in this piece !!!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I am not a person of faith, but I often wish I was.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.