Poets logo

Dear Santa

A Poem

By Steven BaldryPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Dear Santa.

A cold December morning, the snow flakes fall.

Like graceful feathers they dance with the turquoise sky.

There’s something beautiful, something magical...

The cold crisp air makes me feel so alive.

As the early morning darkness lifts...

Christmas lights begin to fade.

Children rush around...

As innocent dreams are made.

Excitement fills their hearts.

In their faces you can see.

The anticipation of Christmas...

The beginning of fantasy.

There are letters being written.

Heading for the north pole.

Where the honest truth is written.

With words direct from the soul.

Hearts so easily seem to open.

In this festive season.

Even as an adult grown old...

I still feel every meaning.

And so I sit and I write...

Dear Santa will you bring me...

Wrap me up a present...

Hide it underneath my tree.

It wont cost money.

I don’t want a miracle from above.

But if you could just send me...

Somebody to love.

I will leave out carrots for Rudolph.

For you milk and mince pies.

I’ll be good all year round...

If you bring me love without disguise.

When I tear off the wrapping...

I just want to simply find.

Something honest, something beautiful...

I can cherish as only mine.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.