Poets logo

Dear North

Every time you survive being broken I forgive myself faster.

By Jahnari RoséPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
North is the name of my heart

Dear North,

This is a long list of explanations and letters that are long overdue, I know I've been missing and that's because you need your space.

While I was gone I learned a lot and I've been living the words I wrote and the lessons I would speak. I’ve been imperfect just as I needed still fight the bad habits.

While I was away I got closer to mastering my emotions and spoke up and kept my tone low enough.

I’ve learned my weaknesses and I’ve practiced my strengths, I was a soft flower that wilted into the ground only to rise again in the next season despite the cold.

The nights haven't been too long anymore and the days have been lasting, more good memories were made.

I have no new regrets and I've forgiven myself for the ones in the past, I've learned to live in the good moments of The present as they pass.

My headspace has been crowded with new objectives and ideas of what to do next, My patience has hit rock bottom and I feel like I'm wasting too much time I hesitate or stagger for even a second to react instead of responding.

Dear North, it's a lot less painful to be away from you even though we should never be apart, I hope you haven't forgotten how to shine your light because the way things have been working out we will be back in sync soon.

There are new people now and some of the others from before will be parting ways, I haven't needed to use you for a while because I was hiding from the rainstorm I had to get through.

I'm kinda happy to be in a position to show you to the world again, the point was always to master myself and then re-sync with my best quality.

Right now we have some stuff to do and I'm glad we are back to work, this time around I won't just stand around till the wheels fall off or we are put into the ground.

Dear North, some people need to see you before I have to go, this is your chance to finally win after everything I've put you through.

Keep fighting for me and this time we can change the world even if it's for one person. Don't turn to stone on me and I promise to keep away from the toxic cold.

Lately, you've been lighting up and it's because I have been getting fired up again, I won't let myself get put out so easily again so you can burn bright. This time I'm doing things differently so you won't be in the light under the day or night sky.

The doctors said we've been out of touch with empathy and I haven't really been breathing properly and yet I still wonder why we can never get any sleep.

I guess I can wrap this up so we can focus on the important things and people that are ahead, I promise next time to wait to show you off until after I find out that you'll be safe in the end.

North is the name of my heart and we've fought together for so long that there are no stronger hearts to bring us to our end.

heartbreaklove poems
Like

About the Creator

Jahnari Rosé

“Do not explain your philosophy, Live it..”

I write about love, healing, and self-development.

I take most of my own photos.

I post work on Instagram @roze.writes25.

All written and approved for submission under © 2023 Rozeville, Inc

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.