Poets logo

Dear Narcissist

Part V

By Poppy Published 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
13
Image Created on Midjourney

We used to

Throw words

Like weapons

Desperate to make

The other bleed

In the hopes of

Cauterising our

Own wounds

One of us grew up

One of us didn’t

Now every time

The whip breaks

The skin on my back

I bite my lip and

Hold in my scream

Every sound of

Protest I make is

Twisted into a

Guilt trip and I won’t

Give you the pleasure

Of seeing my tears

(Or at least I didn’t)

Now I make the

Mistake of showing

A sliver of vulnerability

The crack between

My armour plates

Quick as a viper

Your sword is drawn

(As if I haven’t spent

The last few years using

My shield to shelter you)

I block your blade

With my bare hands

And you claim I’m

Hurting you

You press your foot

Against my back

Watching as my teeth

Collide with concrete

And tell me I treat you badly

If I am a knife

I am blunted

From disuse

And if you are

Simply a pen

You are one

Covered in blood

❀❀❀❀❀

The Rest of the Series:

(Don't need to be read in order)

fact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This series is truly amazing.

  • Rachael MacDonald10 months ago

    dark imagery throughout this whole series, very well done! Also really like the art you chose, hauntingly beautiful. ❤

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    What a series! Well done Poppy. You’ve taken what should never have been, such abysmal darkness, and turned that sh*t to art. (That last line definitely came from Kelly Clarkson… I saw clip of that song yesterday on YouTube)🙈👌❤️✨👏

  • "I block your blade With my bare hands And you claim I’m Hurting you" Oh, I felt this.

  • Using my shield to shelter you. That hit deep. As always, I loved this poem!

  • Ooooh, the comparison to being a dull blade from disuse...stellar. Iron sharpens iron, but here your words sharpen words. A poem that truly makes one reflect on the less than desirable aspects of a relationship with someone not compatible or selfish.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    What a great use of words! I loved this from beginning to end.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    The gaslighting is SO hurtful This was wonderfully written

  • Test10 months ago

    "I block your blades with my bare hands and you claim I am hurting you" Wow. This is absolutely beautifully heartbreaking. That last line is so hard hitting as well. Really well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.