Poets logo

Dear Mr Mailman

Special Delivery

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Dear Mr Mailman
Photo by Cameron Gibson on Unsplash

Dear Mr. Mailman,

Every day I watch from my window, praying you will stop.

Praying a letter or card in my mailbox you will drop.

Just a note to say hello from a spectre of my past;

A postcard from Maui asking me to come at last.

Daily my heart skips a beat as I see you come down the road,

Each day dreading and hoping for you to stop at my abode.

Yet, like my soul, my mailbox remains empty

As correspondence goes to everyone except me.

Still I hope he’ll find it in his heart to drop me a line -

Just a word to let me know he’s fine.

So tomorrow I shall watch once more,

Praying for y0u to approach my door.

Sincerely,

Adrift in Seattle

sad poetry

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    "Each day dreading and hoping for you to stop at my abode." It's like watching your mother in law back over a cliff in your brand new car! Another fine piece of work!

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.