Poets logo

Dear James

A dedication to an old friend

By Chris IrbyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

Dear Jame, I hope you like it up there in heaven

man why you kill yourself whats been happening

lately you've been on my mind

I miss when I could see you smiling

I've been going through a rough patch with a woman

It came to my mind while I was chilling

I got a picture of you on my wall so every day you serve as a reminder

I wonder what it was you were after

Life was better with you in it

I miss when you called me your Idiot

Those times I miss and cherish

Everyday you come to mind

I wish Id been there when suicide was your lifeline

I could have helped you

now I cant live with myself

If I hadn't been gone

I could have sensed something was wrong

Now your dead

And all I feel is sadness and dread

A sense of self-loathing

Its been a rough couple of years

Trying to hold back tears

all your friends miss you

I hope your finally happy

This isn't the final goodbye

Ill see you again

In time

sad poetryheartbreakFamily

About the Creator

Chris Irby

I don't wanna die without any scars

Without pain, without sacrifice, we would have nothing.

I found freedom. Losing all hope was freedom.

It's only after we've lost everything that we're free to do anything.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Very sad. Sorry for your loss.

Chris IrbyWritten by Chris Irby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.