Poets logo

Dear Immanuel,

May I put my head on Your shoulder?

By Chloë J.Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear Immanuel,
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

would you mind

if, for a time,

here rest I, ‘til I’m ready?

I have found,

through time and sound,

my head grows rather heavy.

//

I confess,

I am a mess,

but only on the inside-

look, and find,

I’m in a bind,

with nowhere else to confide.

//

where else can

I find a hand

that won’t grow cold while holding?

it appears

my common fears

oft daily have me folding.

//

all the rest,

they do their best,

to listen, and to help me.

but they grow bored

while my fears roared-

not softer in their repeats.

//

it’s not their fault

empathy halts-

I know mine has its limits.

but we all need

an Ear that heeds

our constant-fearing spirits.

//

a Shoulder where

our souls can bare

repeated little terrors.

even when

WE’RE sick of them,

we need a tender Carer.

//

and so I ask

You with me, bask,

but not embrace my fearing-

just stay with me

and Comfort, be,

whene’er my fears come rearing.

///

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.