Poets logo

Dear Daddy

challenge entry

By Iojana Cabeda MenendezPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
light in darkness

Dear Daddy,

I place one foot in front of the other, crunching on every fallen leaf.

Overwhelmed with gratitude, overcome by grief.

Knees buckling, face flushed

lips dry, heart racing.

I am this version.

Wild, barefaced and unafraid. Curious with lungs full of green.

Many versions ago,

She feared the world swallowing her whole.

She feared the trees enclosing her path.

She feared her beating heart and the wild adventures it would send her on.

She, feared you.

I carry the fear you gifted me around my neck, only now i chose to call it strength.

With my bare feet on earth, i think of many versions ago.

Inhale pain, eyes close, exhale grief.

The wind carries her over the meadows, through the trees and down the streams.

She, like the meadows, trees, streams and you, remain a part of me.

I love and accept her to be. I will answer her calling when she returns passively and gracefully.

And when you rest your head in eternal sleep, I hope your version is proud of the version your daughter chose to be.

Daddy i forgive you and i hope you can forgive me.

For when the wind chills my bare skin and fills my lungs with green, then i will know, my spirit will forever be free.

Vulnerably, Versions of me.

love poemssad poetrynature poetryinspirationalheartbreakart
1

About the Creator

Iojana Cabeda Menendez

Seeker of beauty. Inspired by nature, existential experiences and raw emotion.

In search for a safe space to explore my creativity and be seen authentically.

I personally shoot all of my photos on film and they are raw/ unedited 📸

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice piece 💖✨😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.